Many lives could be saved as a result of wearing a seat belt. Driver’s and passengers who are not wearing seat belts in Florida car accidents risk the chance of being thrown out of their vehicles after impact, as well as receiving internal injuries and possible death.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, seat belts reduced the risk of death or injury during an accident by 50 percent.
Reports from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles indicated that the number of fatal Florida car accidents in 2010 represented a 30 year low and saw a 5% decrease in fatal car accidents.
This is great news; however, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles warns that car accidents are still the leading cause of death for Florida residents between the ages of 5 and 34.
According to experts, a person involved in a Fort Lauderdale car crash can lessen the chance of a serious injury or fatality by being buckled into a seat belt. Serious injuries that can occur in wrecks and may be prevented with the use of a seat belt include: Florida brain injury, internal injuries and spinal cord injuries.By wearing seat belts, many accident victims will be more likely to survive a Florida crash.
There are safety belt laws that must be followed. If you don’t adhere to these seat belt laws you can receive a violation. A police officer can pull you over and issue you a citation if you or your passengers in the vehicle are not wearing a seat belt.
Florida seat belt law violation fines are based on the age of the unbuckled passengers.
Ways to avoid penalties for violating Florida seat belt laws:
- All front seat occupants must be buckled up regardless of age.
- All newborn to 6 years old: Children under six years must be properly restrained while riding in any car, pickup truck, or van on Florida’s roads, no matter where they are sitting in the vehicle.
- Age up to 3 years old: Children through age three must be secured in a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer’s integrated child safety seat.
- Age 4 through 5 years old: Must be in a separate carrier, or integrated child safety seat, or a safety belt may be used.
- Ages, 6 to 15 years old: If you or any passenger in the car is unbuckled, you can receive a ticket. It does not matter if the passenger is seated in the front or back seat of the vehicle, you can still be ticketed. The driver will be fined for any passengers 15 years and younger.
- 16 years old and up: These passengers must also be buckled. If the passenger is not buckled, they may be fined instead of you.
Research has revealed that when a driver is unbuckled that 70 percent of the time children in that vehicle will not be buckled either. Why risk your child’s life? Buckle up!
Contact the Law Offices of David Benenfeld to speak with a knowledgeable Fort Lauderdale personal injury lawyer today if you have been injured in a South Florida car accident. Call today to schedule an appointment at [number type=”2″] or [number type=”1″]. You can also take advantage of our FREE book, Secrets Exposed: 7 Deadly Mistakes That Can Destroy Your Auto Accident Case.