What are the laws surrounding car seats in Florida?
In order to keep children as safe as possible as passengers in cars, it is important to know the laws surrounding child car seats. The best thing for children is that they ride in the back seat and in the correct car seat for their age, weight, and height.
According to the DMV, Florida car seat laws are as follows:
- Children under 7-years-old are required to be secured in a federally approved child restraint system.
- Children age one and younger must use a rear-facing car seat in the back seat of the vehicle.
- Children from 1-years-old and 20 pounds to 4-years-old and 40 pounds need to be in a rear-facing car seat until they surpass the height and weight limit of the car seat.
- Children from 4-years-old and 40 pounds to 8-years-old and 4’9” tall need to be seated in a forward-facing child seat until they exceed the weight and height limits set by the car seat manufacturer.
- Children from 8-years-old or 4’9” tall to 12-years-old must remain in the back seat in a booster seat until a child is big enough to use the vehicle’s seat belt.
- Children age 13 and older are allowed to sit in the front seat of a car.
If your child was injured in a car accident, and you have done everything right to protect your child, you may have a legal claim. To talk about your case and learn about your rights, call the Law Offices of David Benenfeld at 866-9 HELP NOW or 866-943-5766 to speak with a Florida personal injury lawyer today in a complimentary consultation.