Do I need a police report prior to contacting a personal injury lawyer?
No. There is no need to wait to for a police report before making contact with me or any personal injury lawyer. Attorneys can request a copy of your police report; however, it is important that you do make a police report following a crash in Florida.
Police officers may have arrived on the scene of your car accident. If so, you probably do not need to file a written statement about the accident because a law enforcement officer most likely investigated your crash and will make a written report. However, if no investigation was done or if there were any injuries, fatalities or damages above $500, you must report the accident within 10 days to the Florida DMV.
Because there is a lot at stake following a car crash, it is good to make sure you are doing everything correctly so that you aren’t barred from making a personal injury claim for your damages. For help with your car accident claim, contact the Law Offices of David Benenfeld for a complimentary consultation today at 866-9 HELP NOW or 866-943-5766.