I Recently Read That Hit And Run Accidents Are On The Rise In Broward County. What Should I Do If I Am A Victim Of A Hit And Run Accident?
Broward County has been listed second among Florida’s top five counties for hit and run accidents in 2012. Florida Highway Patrol reports that there has been an 8% hike in hit and runs since 2011, totals topping almost 8,000 incidents. While Miami-Dade is down a few thousand from last year, they still rank first, totaling almost 12,000 drivers ditching the scene of an accident. Worse yet, fatalities have increased from hit and run accidents, and three out of every five incidents involve pedestrians.
Perhaps those fleeing a hit and run do so because they don’t have a valid driver’s license, insurance, or legal documents necessary. In any case, the FHP requires drivers to stop and exchange information, including any attention needed to injured victims. Individuals who commit a hit and run crime may face up to 30 years in prison or a fine of $10,000.
If you or a loved one are victim of a hit and run accident then take the following steps:
- Call police
- Remain calm
- Stay with your vehicle
- Record and report witness and driver info
- Take down important scene details, including photos
- Help the injured
Contact the Law Offices of David M. Benenfeld for a free consultation.