I Heard Florida Changed Their Law About Texting And Driving?
It’s official. Finally, as of October 1, 2013, Florida has become the 41st state to join forces with the others against texting while driving. Governor Rick Scott signed the law known as SB52. Since over half of all teens report texting while driving, the consensus shouts the law is overdue, and a bit weak. Nonetheless, FL law enforcement is encouraged to take one small step towards the larger action of awareness and monitoring of dangerous distracted driving.
The Do’s and Don’ts of Florida Texting While Driving
- No manual texting while driving.
- You may text at traffic signals or stops.
- Texting while driving is a secondary offense. To be given a ticket, you must be pulled over for another offense, such as speeding or running a stop sign.
- First texting fine is $30 + Court Fees. Second offense is $60.
- The law allows voice texting-known as talk-to-text and other apps.
- The law allows driver use of GPS device while driving.
- The law allows driver use of phone for reporting crimes.
Victims of car accidents caused by texting and driving need expert advice from a qualified Broward County Auto Accident Attorney. Contact Attorney David M. Benenfeld for more information.